The India national field hockey team is the national men's team representing field hockey in India. It is the first non-European team to be a part of the International Hockey Federation

In 1928, the team won its first Olympic gold medal and until 1956, the Indian men's team remained unbeaten in the Olympics, winning six gold medals in a row. In total, the Indian field hockey team has won eight Olympics gold medals — the highest among all national teams. On Feb 26th 2012, the Indian men's national field hockey team have qualified for the 2012 Summer Olympics in London after a gap of 8 years. The team had a resounding victory over France in the finals of the Olympic qualifiers by beating France 8-1. Ace drag-flicker Sandeep Singh, starred in the final against France by scoring five goals - including a hat-trick - all from penalty corners (19th, 26th, 38th, 49th and 51st).
Back to Top